Tinsel in a Tangle

Standard

Devotion: Isaiah 40:3

My dear friend Kay, gave me several Christmas shirts.  One says, “Don’t get your tinsel in a tangle.”  I am hoping all who read it; will stop to think about their Christmas stress level.  Why do we allow ourselves to get into such a panic over the decorating, the gift buying, the wrapping, the baking, the party planning and forget to ready ourselves for the One whose birthday we are celebrating?  I find myself in a frenzy ever year and every year I declare, I will not do this next year.

My heart wants to spend the whole month of December spreading good tidings of great joy.  I want to prepare more for the celebration of Christ’s birth than I do the celebration of my own traditions.  John was the one who cried out, “prepare the way of the LORD…” Jesus birthday is celebrated all over the world by those who know Him and love Him.  Christmas and Easter are our most sacred Holy days but sometimes we get so busy we lose the joy God prepared for His children.

Let’s find someone to share the good news of the gospel with this Christmas season.  Be watching for someone who looks downcast or down trodden and either hand them a tract or tell them the story of your salvation.

In Motion:

Bless the harried ones with  an act of kindness.  Speak a blessing to one who may be cursing you.  That is difficult but it pleases the Lord when you give beauty for ashes and strength for fear, gladness for mourning and peace for despair.

 

Leave a Reply

