God’s Will

Standard

Devotion: Matthew 6:10

Jesus’ disciples asked Him to teach them to pray.  The fourth sentence in the Lord’s prayer states, “Thy will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.”

I remember praying desperate prayers; for my Mom who was dying of cancer.  Our pastor, my dad, sister and I knelt around her bed and claimed, “If any two of you agree as touching anything on this earth, it shall be done for them by my Father who is in heaven.”  We agreed.  Right?  We were in unity.  With every ounce of our being.  This, then twenty four year old, started telling everyone my mom was going to be healed.  She actually sat up a couple of days later and talked a little bit and ate a little bit.  I just knew she was being healed.  Within a couple of more days, she was healed, but with heavenly healing. She was with the Jesus she dearly loved.  He whispered to me, Libby, I did heal her, she’s with Me.  “But Lord,” I cried, “That was not what I meant.  I wanted her healed for earth.”

We did not want her to die.  Jesus knew we did not want her to die. He knew we believed with all of our heart that He could heal her. And yet, He did not.  We must always pray, Father if it be your will.  God knows what is best for the person and what is best for us.  With God all things are possible and we have not because we ask not or we ask with wrong motives.

It’s imperative that we pray those words, “Not my will, but Yours be done.”

Prayer in Motion

Dear Lord, may I always pray, “Not my will but Yours be done.”

2 thoughts on “God’s Will

    • Yes it is Sherry. I agree. It’s the hardest and yet the most freeing; all because we know God will accomplish what concerns us and those we pray for. I do love you dear sister! I pray you and Tom are doing well. WE’ve had a few inches of snow but the sun is out today and I’m sure it will be melted soon.

Leave a Reply

