Writing Letters

Standard

Devotion:  Galatians 1:1-5

I love to get letters.  It doesn’t matter the venue.  It can be a hard copy delivered to my mailbox or it can come in my e-mail. Writing letters is such a lost art.  I think most people consider it a waste of time; however, it’s such a treasure, for our eyes to behold well thought out words, lovingly penned and addressed with our name inscribed at the very top.

Such is the case for Paul, who addressed a letter to the churches of Galatia. He was definitely writing the gospel message; as his letter extended grace and peace from the Father and the Son.  He lovingly states the purpose of our Lord Jesus Christ, “who gave Himself for our sins to deliver us from the present evil age.”

These words ring true for you, my dear friend.  Jesus Christ gave Himself for your sin, to deliver you from this present evil age. God’s Word is so personal.  Every word of this letter; is as fresh to you, as the day Paul penned it to the church of Galatia.  God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ; extends grace and peace to you continually.

No one would argue the point, we live in an “evil age.”  The grace and peace of Christ can elude us when we refuse to; “Seek the Lord while He may be found and call upon Him, while He is near.”  While we watch horrific, current events presented by the media, we can become filled with anxiety and fear.

Personalize and rehearse these words:

Grace to me and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ, “who gave Himself for my sins to deliver me from the present evil age, according to the will of my God and Father, to whom be the glory forever and ever. Amen

Prayer in Motion:

Write out a prayer letter addressed to: God my Father and to the Lord Jesus Christ,  I receive the grace and peace provided for me on a daily, moment by moment basis.  Thank You for giving Your very life for my sins. I need not fear the present evil age because You are with me.  I love you Lord!  In Jesus Name I offer up this prayer.  Amen!

 

 

Leave a Reply

