No Ifs, Ands or Buts

Standard

Devotion: Luke 6:46

God never makes exceptions to HIs commands.  Our human flesh, wants to believe He makes special provisions, for harsh, hard circumstances.  His promises are yes and amen. His truth remains the same; yesterday, today and forever.

Our flesh may want a watered down gospel, but our soul needs the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth.  Half truths, are the same as a lie.  We must believe the whole counsel of the Most High God.  The Lord wants us to read His Word in It’s context, not just the part that makes everything better or justifies our need for unresolved conflict.

Here are are few examples of ‘No Ifs, Ands or Buts from Luke 6

“Love your enemies.”

“Do good to those who hate you.”

“Bless those who curse you.”

“Pray for those who spitefully use you.”

“Judge not, and you shall not be judged.”

“Condemn not, and you shall not be condemned.”

“Forgive, and you will be forgiven.”

“Give, and it will be given to you…for with the same measure that you use, it will be measured back to you.” 

We are tempted to say, “But Lord; what If? And what about this situation or that circumstance?  Don’t I have my rights?  God said, “Vengeance is Mine, I will repay.”

We don’t get a pass from, “What thus says the Lord our God.”  He says what He means and He means what He says.

In verse 46, Jesus asks, “Why do you call Me Lord, Lord, and not do the things which I say?  It breaks my heart to think of all the times, I have responded in the flesh to my circumstances.  I want to obey God rather than my own selfish desires; no ifs, ands or buts allowed.

Prayer in Motion:

Oh God, may I choose to take Your Word at face value, obey You, rather than react in an ungodly manner.  I want to uphold Your Word both now and always.  Lead me in the paths of righteousness, for Your Name’s sake.  In Jesus Name, I offer up this prayer.  Amen

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

