On Your Knees

Standard

Devotion:  Romans 14:10-11

Every night before retiring, my mom and dad would kneel with my sister and me, to pray our evening prayers.  What began as “Now I lay me down to sleep, I pray the Lord my soul to keep…,” grew into praying for our family, our neighbors and missionaries across the ocean.

It was sweet to kneel with my mom and dad, because I knew we were bowing before a Great and Mighty God.  Honestly, it’s more about the position of your heart, than your physical position, but your children or grandchildren will never forget, what they see and hear, as you bow before God’s throne.  It will forever be imbedded in their hearts and minds.  Children learn what they are taught.

Solomon blessed the LORD after he finished the temple and began to pray a prayer of dedication.  He began his prayer standing but somewhere in this powerful prayer, he knelt before the Lord. In 1 Kings 8:54 the Lord tells us, “He arose from before the altar of the LORD, where he had knelt with hands outstretched toward heaven.”

In 1 Kings 18:42, Elijah put his face between his knees on top of Mount Carmel, as he prayed for rain to come, on the dry and thirsty land.  In Ezra 9:5, Ezra fell on his face and began to confess the sin of the Israelites.  God did not forsake them, even in their slavery, because of His steadfast love.  Kneeling before an open window, with great certainty and intention, Daniel faced the lion’s den, as he knelt before an open window to pray to the God of heaven. (Daniel 6:10) After having been stoned, Stephen fell on his knees and cried out with a loud voice, “Lord, do not hold this sin against them.” (Acts 7:60)

Kneeling before our Holy and Righteous God indicates a servant’s heart.  It’s an outward appearance of an inward transformation.  One day soon, “Every knee will bow and every tongue will confess, that Jesus is Lord.”

Prayer in Motion:

Lord, “Here I am to worship.  Here I am to bow down.  Here I am to say that You’re My God.  You’re altogether lovely, altogether worthy, altogether wonderful to me.”  I worship You Lord, in Spirit and in Truth.  In Jesus Name, Amen!

 

 

Leave a Reply

