In A Mood

Standard

Devotion: Psalm 13:1-6

My husband and I were talking about people being in a mood.  I asked, “Do you suppose women are more moody than men?” He replied, “I’m in a mood right now.”  It happens.  Someone doesn’t follow through with a promise, or there was a mis-communication of instructions. Murphy’s law sets in motion and someone loses their cool, which in turn ruins the plan in progress. It might be a time constraint, or a process that must be followed in order to finish well, the task you’ve been given. Women as well as men can get in a sour mood when life takes an unplanned turn.  Why do we let these things ruin our whole day, week, month or year?

We allow the enemy of our soul to steal, kill and destroy the truth God has spoken. Our mood can turn from happy to sad in a nano second.  The man after God’s own heart; felt the LORD had forgotten him forever.  He was seeking the face of the Lord and it seemed the Lord was hiding from him.  David was trying to counsel himself and carried a heart full of sorrow.  He was in a mood indeed.

David did not want his enemies to gain the upper hand. So what did He do?  He began to praise God for the great and mighty things He had done in the past.  He declared, “I have trusted in Your steadfast love; my heart shall rejoice in your salvation.  He then stated that he would break out in song to the LORD, because of HIs bountiful actions toward him.

If God inhabits the praises of His people, just like His Word declares, then doesn’t it make sense our mood can be quickly altered, through praising the Lord our God, versus being ruled by disappointments and discouragement?  Try it next time, your circumstances began to flail your heart’s well being.  Break out in a song of praise and then watch to see how your mood will be lifted.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord Jesus I submit my mind, my emotions and my mood into your very capable hands.  When I allow myself to fall prey to my enemy, remind me to break out into a song of praise.  In Jesus Name.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

