Our Burden Bearer

Standard

Devotion:  Nehemiah 4:10, Exodus 6:6,

While prayer walking in an Asian country; I watched a man small in stature, carry a refrigerator up four flights of stairs.  With that mammoth sized appliance strapped to his back; he climbed up with an intentional gate.  The image is forever burned into my mind, as I see that little man forging up those flights of stairs.

The Lord Jesus Himself, is our burden bearer. We are weak, in comparison to His perfect strength. He alone can shoulder the heavy load you are currently carrying.  He alone can save you from the crushing weight of the load you bear.

Lift up your eyes unto the hills, where your help comes from. Look to the One who stands with open arms, waiting on you. Why wait one more minute?  Jesus will carry you when you do not have the strength to carry on.

So many people are struggling to juggle their “stuff”; financial burdens, serious illness, dysfunctional relationships or an ocean full of loneliness.  There seems to be no end to the list of burdens, that our small frames struggle to carry.

Oh God, be our help and our strength.  You are a very present help in trouble.  You never slumber nor sleep.  You know our going out and our coming in.  You are Omnicient, Omnipresent, and Omnipotent.  If You are who You say You are, then why do I  ever doubt that the strength of my “Burden Bearer” would fail? You who created me with and on purpose, will never leave me nor forsake me.

Prayer in Motion:

“Lord Jesus I have promised to serve You till the end.  Be thou forever near me, my Master and my Friend.  I shall not fear the battle, for thou are on my side.”  Thank You Lord for being my help and my strength.  Thank You for bearing my crushing burdens.

 

Leave a Reply

