Your Heart’s How Old?

Standard

Devotion:  1 Samuel 16:7, Proverbs 17:22

Reality check.  My doctor asked me how old is your heart?  I burst out laughing because rather than asking how old I am, he asked how old is your heart?  Still makes me laugh out loud.   He didn’t want to ask this woman her age, so he asked about the age of a body part.

Dr. Baird clearly made his point, to this stubborn woman , who does not like to take medicine.   If I am going to watch over my heart with all diligence, then it’s important to take what the doctor prescribes.

God created us with a heart and placed it in the center of our body, to pump the blood to all the needed areas. Without proper blood flow, our extremities will develop blood clots, clogging the pathways.

God says many things about the heart.  “Out of the mouth, the heart speaks.”  “Let not your heart be troubled.” “Man looks on the outward appearance, but God looks on the heart.” “Create in me a clean heart O God.” “A joyful heart is good medicine.” Trust in the Lord with all  your heart and lean not on your own understanding.”  There are hundreds more my friend because the heart is who we are.  It’s the seat of our emotions, our will, as well as the dwelling place of God’s Holy Spirit.

How old is your heart?  If you will watch over your heart with all diligence; it doesn’t really matter the age of your heart.  It’s what you’ve done with it.  Have you given your heart to Jesus?  Do you turn over your heart issues to Him on a daily basis?  The One who created your heart, will watch over it until the day He calls you Home.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord, thank You for watching over my heart continually.  I love You and cast my cares upon You.  I trust You with my heart, all the days of my life.  I want to be a good steward of all I allow to come into my heart and all the things that go out of my heart.

Leave a Reply

