Caving In

Standard

Devotion: Romans 7:19-25

Several months ago; Tom Dodds stepped out onto his porch, to hear someone yelling “Help, help.”  He said the cry sounded so far away, that he could hardly depict the direction of the person’s voice.  When he walked out to try and locate the one in distress; it was actually barely across the street.  His neighbor had fallen in a sink hole.  A place in the man’s yard had caved in and swallowed him up.  He had been there for hours yelling for someone to help him.

Do you ever find yourself caving in? Caving into something you don’t want to do.  Caving into pressure from another person? Caving into your circumstances?  If you cave in, the ground feels as if it would fall out from under you and you find yourself frantically grabbing onto whatever or whomever, is within your reach, desperate for someone to help you.

Is there anyway to prevent ourselves from caving into life?  Hard things happen.  Our flesh fails us.  We say things we should not. We do things contrary to our belief system.  We treat others the exact opposite of the way we want to be treated.  If we cave into our fleshly gut reactions; versus the reaction of the Holy Spirit, we then find ourselves on a slippery slope; that leads to a deep abyss.  Losing ground to our flesh; brings about regret and loss of victory in Christ.

Who will set us free from this inner struggle to cave in to our flesh?  It’s only God through Jesus Christ our Lord!  When we have the desire to do the right thing, but lack the ability to carry it out; we must “trust in the Lord with all our heart and lean not unto our own understanding.  In all our ways acknowledge Him and He will direct our path.”  Seek the Lord while He may be found and call upon Him while He is near.

Tom took a ladder to help the man get out of the sink hole. Jesus hears your cries for help.  He has made a way where there doesn’t seem to be any way out.  He is just waiting for you to cry out to Him.  Your help comes from the Lord, maker of heaven and earth.  Nothing is too hard for Him.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord, I am crying out to You for help.  “I need You, Oh I need You.  Every hour I need You.  Oh bless me now my Savior, I come to Thee.”  May I not cave in to my flesh because my heart and flesh will always fail me but You are my Rock and my Salvation.  I know You hear and You will answer.  Thank You Jesus!  It’s in Your Name I offer up this prayer.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

