Goodness and Mercy

Standard

Devotion:  Psalm 23:6

My sister and I stood up in front of our two hundred and something congregation and belted out the song, “Surely goodness and mercy, shall follow me, all the days, all the days of my life…”  To this very day, the truth of that song; based upon God’s Word, resonates in my mind and heart.

Our God is a merciful God, for the scripture proclaims;

“His mercies are new every single morning and great is His faithfulness.” Lamentations 3:23

“His mercy is everlasting.”  Psalm 100:5

“I will sing aloud of Your mercy in the morning, for You have been my defense and my refuge in the day of trouble.”  Psalm 59:16

Think of all the times your God has been merciful to you.  Think of all the ways He was merciful to you yesterday.  He allows your path to cross with people who encourage and equip you; to keep on keeping on, in your most Holy faith.  He proves Himself good and merciful, when the enemy tries to tear you down. His mercy is like an ocean, that rolls over you continually.

I remember the morning many years ago when God spoke His Word over me, “You will live to see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living.”  How powerful and precious are His thoughts toward you and me!  I have lived to see the truth of His Word come alive in my life.  Oh, precious child of the Most High God; what a good and merciful God we serve!

Prayer in Motion:

I bless Your Name Oh Lord, for You are such a good and merciful God!  “Morning by morning, new mercies I see. All I have needed, Your hand has provided.  Great is Your faithfulness, Lord unto me!”  Oh God, please receive this song in my heart and this prayer on my lips.  In Jesus Name.  Amen

 

2 thoughts on “Goodness and Mercy

Leave a Reply

