Thoughts on Prayer

Standard

Devotion: Psalm 55:17

Prayer is defined as an earnest request or petition to God.  I grew up in a home, where my mom and dad prayed before every meal.  We prayed together at night before retiring. I have precious memories of  kneeling down together at our bedside.

As a young child, I began praying prayers like, “Now I lay me down to sleep”, “God is great, God is good”, and then advancing to: “God help me…” , “Lord, deliver me from temptation,” “Thank You Lord…”  As I grew up, I began to pray God’s Words back to Him.

Why in the world would the Creator and Redeemer of the universe want to hear our prayers and converse with us?  He created us for His own good pleasure.  He longs to hear our voice and He wants to speak to us.  You talk to Him and He listens.  He speaks through His Word and you listen, to what He longs to speak to your heart.  It’s how we started out in our Christian walk.  We asked Him to come into our hearts to be our Savior.  Through the power of His Holy Spirit; He speaks to you, leads you into paths of righteousness, for His Name’s sake.  He brings conviction, when we go astray.  He speaks comfort when we are broken hearted.  He speaks peace in the midst of our troubles.

Some people only pray on Sundays, or only in a crisis.  It’s like walking along side someone when they are looking at you, but you are ignoring them.  God is there, waiting.  Talk to Him about the big and little things.  He is with you always.

Prayer in Motion:

Jesus, I repent for the times I have ignored You.  Please forgive me.  I lift my eyes to You, the Author and Finisher of my faith.  I want to talk with You; all through out each day.  I love You Lord. In Your Name I pray.  Amen

Leave a Reply

