Walking our Talk

Standard

Devotion:  1 Chronicles 16:11

There’s an old hymn that declares, “I’m learning to lean on Jesus.  Finding more power than I’ve ever dreamed.  I’m learning to lean on Jesus.”  We can talk a good talk but when we are tested; can we walk out our talk?

It’s easy to sit in our Bible study group and proclaim the truth of God’s Word.  There is great strength when two or three are gathered together to pray and discuss the powerful truth of God’s Word. That’s why God wants us to “forsake not the assembling of ourselves together, as is the habit of some.” Will the truth of the Bible pour out of you; when you are hurting, physically, emotionally or spiritually?

We’ve all heard the powerful old adage, “If God brings you to it, He will bring you through it.”  You’ve probably made this statement to a brother or sister in Christ; however, applying it to our own lives can be difficult.  Can you speak God’s powerful words, that are sharper than any two edged sword and can pierce to both joint and marrow, to yourself?  Will you choose to apply them like salve, to your hurting body or spirit?

It amazes me how frequently we readily apply God’s proclamation to others but forget to pour it out on our own circumstances.  Many times, those who are intercessors and pray for others on a regular basis; forget to bathe ourselves with the same prayers.  We need to walk out the faith we have for others and pray diligently for ourselves as well.

Intercession; interceding for others, and supplication, praying for yourself, go hand in hand.  The same God; that hears your cries for other people, hears your prayers for yourself.  Make your petitions and requests known.  God loves for you to intercede for others but He wants to talk with you about your life as well. Don’t hold back.  Plead your case before a Holy and righteous God; who’s eyes are moving to and fro, looking for those whose hearts long to be completely His.  He longs to order your steps and direct your path on a daily basis.

Prayer in Motion:

Jesus, I cry out to you this day.  I plead my case before You.  Nothing is too difficult for You.  You are for me and not against me.  You are working all things together for my good and Your glory.  I receive Your Words of truth, implanted in my soul. Thank You for pleading my case before the Father.  I love You Lord Jesus and thank You for hearing and answering my prayers.  In Jesus Name I pray.  Amen

 

Leave a Reply

