Baptism

Standard

Devotion:  Luke 3:21-22

As I watched Johnny baptize Karin, his new bride; I thought, what a sweet way to begin their new life together.  About fifty friends gathered; to celebrate Karin’s new life in Christ.  We all cheered; as Johnny raised her up from the waters of the river. There is nothing more precious, than seeing a new believer follow in the footsteps of the Lord Jesus.

Picture with me John; baptizing the people who had just received Christ as their Savior.  Some were reasoning in their hearts, trying to discern, whether or not He was the Christ.  John answered in verse sixteen:  “I indeed baptize you with water; but One mightier than I is coming, whose sandal strap I am not worthy to loose.  He will baptize  you with the Holy Spirit.”

John felt unworthy to baptize his Lord; however, Jesus set the example for those who would follow Him.  The Father showed His pleasure; in His only begotten Son, by opening up the heavens. His mighty voice boomed down, “This is My beloved Son in whom I am well pleased.”  The people watched; as the Holy Spirit descended upon Jesus, in the form of a dove.

Baptism doesn’t save you; however, it is an outward expression of an inward change.  It is an act of obedience to our Lord’s command.

Johnny baptized Karin, in the Name of the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit.  It was a picture of being buried with Christ and raised to walk in newness of life.  I am certain that heaven was rejoicing with us, as this dear husband baptized his beautiful bride.  What a picture of the bride of Christ, obeying her Lord!

Prayer in Motion

Lord Jesus, thank you for this outward expression of an inward change.  May I celebrate, every time I see a Christian walk in obedience to the ordinance of baptism. In Jesus precious Name I pray.  Amen

 

 

Leave a Reply

