Satisfied in the Morning

Standard

Devotion:  Psalm 90:14-17

I dropped my coffee pot on the floor.  No, it was not full.  I was about to fill it with water.  Coffee and my Bible in the mornings; go together.  I made myself some hot tea and although it’s tasty; it’s not the same.  It’s not my usual.  It just doesn’t hit the spot.

“I am satisfied with Jesus.  But the question comes to me, when I think of Calvary.  Is my Master satisfied with me?”  Those are a few lines from an old hymn.  While reading Psalm ninety this morning; albeit without my coffee, I came upon verse fourteen. I thought nothing in this world can satisfy me like Jesus can.  He satisfies me with His steadfast love.  Why?  “So that I may rejoice and be glad all my days.”

He will “make us glad for as many days as He has afflicted us.” Have you lived to see true affliction? (over more than a broken coffee pot) I’m guessing your answer is yes.  Have you seen evil for years?  Of course you have; if you are still living and breathing earth’s air.

This song; is a prayer of Moses, the man of God.  He asks the LORD to return and have pity on His servants.  Our span of approximately seventy years is but “toil and trouble.”  That is why Moses asks the Lord to “teach us to number our days that we may get a heart of wisdom.”

Just like coffee satisfies my taste buds; Jesus satisfies me with His steadfast love every single morning.  I’m so thankful His love cannot be broken. I will miss my coffee until I can get a new pot. Honestly, coffee pales in comparison with the steadfast love of Jesus.  I will rejoice and be glad all of my days.  I will be satisfied with Jesus!  Oh how I pray dear reader, that He is satisfied with you and me.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord, You satisfy me with Your steadfast love.  “Morning by morning, new mercies I see.  All I have needed; Thy hands have provided.  Great is Thy faithfulness; Lord unto me.”  I love You Lord Jesus.  Thank You seems trite for the way You love me.  In Jesus Name I offer up this prayer.  Amen

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

