Anxiety in the Heart

Standard

Devotion: Proverbs 12:25

“Trust and obey, for there’s no other way, to be happy in Jesus; but to trust and obey.”  The words from this old hymn ring loudly in the ears of my memory.  But do I?  Trust Jesus fully?  If so; then why do I find myself full of anxiety about so many things? The Bible also says, “Be anxious for nothing, but in everything, by prayer and supplication, let your requests be made known unto God.”  The last part is the promise of a reward.  “And the peace of God which surpasses all understanding will guard your heart and your mind, in Christ Jesus.”

On a large scale; anxiety plagues human beings; males and females alike.  Instead of being filled with fear; why don’t we choose to be filled with faith?

God’s ways are higher than our ways.  When we become afraid and hopeless; we are saying to the Lord, “You have lost control. You aren’t big enough to handle my situation.  You just don’t understand.  Really?  Our God, the One who created us in His image; walked this earth for a full thirty three years, doesn’t understand?  He was in a real family, with real problems.  He served in a society who hated and persecuted Him and His followers.  He dealt with the quirky ways of His disciples on a daily basis.

Although fully God and fully man; many times we forget that Christ walked this earth and experienced every temptation, every trial, every heart ache, that we experience.  We relate to Him only inside our box of humanness.  We forget that He is God of the heavens and the earth.  He is Sovereign. He has made a way of escape.  Step outside the box and trust Him with all the things that are making you anxious.

Prayer in Motion

God, you are mindful that I am but flesh.  I am like a little sheep, spooked by every noise; distracted by every gnat that flies in front of my face!  God I need You every single moment of every single day.  I release my anxieties, my past hurts and disappointments, into Your very capable hands.  I love You Lord Jesus.  It’s in Your powerful Name, I offer up this prayer.  Amen!

Leave a Reply

