I Know

Standard

Devotion: 1 Corinthians 2:11

Omnicient God knows everything.  He knows our thoughts before we even think them.  He knows the first from the last and the very hairs on our heads.  This same God says “I know” four times in the second chapter of Revelation. .

  •     Revelation 2:2  I know your works, your labor, your                      patience, and that you cannot bear those who are evil.
  •     Revelation 2:9  I know your works, your tribulation and                poverty, but you are rich
  •     Revelation 2:13   I know your works, and where you dwell…        and you hold fast to My name, and did not deny My faith…
  •     Revelation 2:19 I know your works, love, service, faith, and        your patience, and as for your works, the last are more                than the first.

Each verse mentions that God knows the works of the church. He speaks of the godly characteristics revealed in their works. He talks about their patience twice, their tribulation, their poverty, love, service and faith.  He is pleased that they “held fast to His name and did not deny their faith.”

Christ knew His church was under terrible persecution.  He was commending them for their perseverance.  The church today is still being molded through our spiritual battles. Perseverance still acts as a conduit for the bride of Christ.

As I sat in my Bible Study Fellowship class last week, the teaching leader began our session by telling us what to do in case of an unwanted intruder with a weapon.  She told us of hiding places, how to defend ourselves, who to contact.  It seemed surreal to me that we were having to have this conversation inside the church walls.

God knows the condition of the church in the world today.  He always has.  As disconcerting as our leader’s message was; I can hear the Lord saying, “I know.”

Prayer in Motion:

Lord, I know that You know the first from the last, the beginning from the end. You are the Alpha and Omega.  May we the church, be molded by our battles and persevere till You come for us.  In Jesus Name.  Amen

Leave a Reply

