Sword of the Spirit

Standard

Devotion:  Ephesians 6:17

When I began writing this devotional, I looked up scriptures for the Sword of the Lord.  There were seventy some found in the Old Testament.  All of them had to do with blood and judgement. God does not play around where sin is involved.  He is a God of love but He is also a just God.  We are to fear Him and revere the words in His Holy Bible.

In Ephesians 6; we read about the armor of God.  The Sword of the Spirit is the Word of God.  This sWord is sharper than any two edged sword and pierces to both joint and marrow. Did you notice the Word is in the the word, sWord?  What is the purpose of a sword?  It is meant to wound, maim or kill the attacker.

God declares His Word to be sharper than any two edged sword. It can stop your enemy, Satan, cold in his tracks.  Jesus is the Word.  When you use God’s sWord, the Word slays him and he has to flee.  He hates the Name of Jesus.  It sends the devil running every single time.

No weapon formed against you shall prosper.  Isaiah 54:17

Hide His Word in your heart, that you might not sin against God. Psalm 119:11

Jesus’ side was pierced with a sword.  Psalm 19:34

Today, His sWord can stop your attacker, Satan.   Never forget to wield God’s Word against your enemy.  It will take him down, until the day he will be forever thrown into the lake of fire, never to bother you again.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord, may I remember to use the Sword of your Spirit every time my enemy attacks.  You will slay him with Your powerful two edged sword.  Thank You for never leaving me defenseless.  I always have the Sword of the Spirit right beside me.  May I continue to hide Your Word in my heart so that I will have it with me always!  Thank You Lord Jesus.  I love You!  It’s in Your Name I offer up this prayer. Amen

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

