My Childhood Question

Standard

Devotion:  Mark 10:14

My childhood question was, “How did God get here?”  My little pee brain could not grasp the Great I Am, who is and was and is to come.  My thought was, “Everyone has a beginning.”  I could not wrap my mind around the fact: God has always been.  He is without beginning and without end.  He is the First and the Last; Omnicient, Omnipresent, Omnipotent.  Who can understand it? His ways are higher than our ways and His thoughts higher than our thoughts.

As I would ask the question over and over; my very patient Mom would always say,  Libby, a person accepts God by faith. Without faith, it’s impossible to believe in Him.  His Word is true from, “In the beginning,” to the last “Amen”.

At the tender age of seven, I invited Jesus into my heart.  My Dad led me through the salvation scriptures and the sinners prayer.  That was when I began my journey with Christ.  It’s the only way to come to Christ, as a little child.

Have I had many questions since the first, “How did God get here?”  Of course I have.  I’ve questioned Him regarding death of loved ones, tragedies, regarding financial difficulties, church fights, losing friendships, wayward friends and the list goes on and on.  However; since my salvation, “I’ve never questioned Him on how He got here, or His existence.”  Why?  Because I believe in Him, my Creator, Redeemer and Friend.

My Lord has never left me nor forsaken me.  He continually answers my prayers, walks with me and talks with me through His Word.  He is the Lord my God.  I want to love Him more on a daily basis.  I know He will hear my every question and lead me to His correct answers.  Sometimes I have to wait; seek His face and listen for His voice.  He will always answer, in His time and in His way.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord, I believe You will always answer my questions; yes, no or wait.  You are the God of all understanding, so I trust in You with all my heart and lean not unto my own understanding.  In all my ways I will acknowledge You and I know You will direct my path. In Jesus Name I pray.  Amen!

 

Leave a Reply

