Ignoring the Holy Spirit

Standard

Devotion: 1 Samuel 15:22

Have you ever ignored the Holy Spirit’s prompting?  When it comes to kingdom matters; He pursues you with passion and fervor.  Your heart starts to pound as you unsuccessfully try to put Him off.  His voice becomes stronger in your mind and heart.

On one such occasion, I tried to resist His pleading with me to stop and buy some lemonade on a hot summer day.  Two little boys were standing in front of their house on my street.  I was tired and had a massive head ache.  I coasted right on by their lemonade stand, turned right and right again into my driveway, opened the garage door and pulled into my cool garage. However, I did not yet lower the door or turn off my engine.

I hate to admit that I banged my steering wheel and said, O.K., O.K., this is me backing out of my driveway and pulling back up Ferncliff Drive to the fifth house on the right.  The two little boys were so excited that I stopped to buy some lemonade.  I bought the lemonade, paid them fifty cents each and started to walk away thinking; what was that about?  As I opened my car door, they said, oh you can’t take the cup.  So I said, OK, I’ll stand here and drink it.

In the mean time; the boys’ mom came out and wiping her eyes. She said, “I was just inside praying for my three older children.” Light bulb moment.  I had been asking God for someone to pray with me, in an organization called Moms In Touch International. Here she was, Linda Albers, one of the women for whom I had been praying.  I almost missed her.  I almost missed out on God’s blessing; a precious friend now for over twenty years.

Isn’t God good?  He’s so persistent in his pursuit to accomplish His will.  He will hear and answer our prayers; when they line up with His plans.  To ignore the Holy Spirit is to disobey Him.  To ignore Him is to miss out on some of life’s greatest blessings.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord, forgive me for all the times I’ve ignored the prompting of Your precious Holy Spirit. I want to obey You quickly.  You say to obey You is better than to sacrifice.  “Speak Lord, for Your servant is listening.”  In Jesus Name.  Amen

Leave a Reply

