Where Are You?

Standard

Devotion:  Genesis 3:7-13

I play hide and seek with my grandchildren.  My two year old grandson, Eli hides mostly in the same places.  I sing a little song,  “Where is Eli?  Where is Eli?  I don’t know.  I don’t know.   I cannot find him.  Where can he be?  Run away.  Run away.” He will always say, “Here I am MiMi. Here I am.”  He always wants to be found but he loves playing this game.

Adam and Eve hid themselves from the presence of the Lord, because they had sinned. They partook of the “forbidden tree.” When God asked them, “Where are you,”  He was not asking because He didn’t know where his children were.  He wanted them to confess their sin.

Adam and Eve felt exposed.  They knew they had disobeyed God; committing the very first sin.  These created human beings wanted to cover from each other and to hide from God.  They came up with a strategy to cover themselves with leaves and then hide in the Garden of Eden.  They were naked and ashamed.

God immediately asked them, “Who told you, you were naked?” Did you eat of the tree from which I commanded you not to eat?Then the blame game began.  Adam said; “It was the woman that You gave me.  She gave me  of the forbidden tree.

It’s human nature to blame someone else for our wrong doing. We never want to admit or take the blame for our blatant sin. Not only have we disobeyed; but we want to cover our sin by lying or deceiving the one we have sinned against.

God wants to know where we are?  Are we willing to confess that we have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God? Romans 3:23 says, “We all have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God.”  Romans 6:23 says, “If we confess our sin, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sin and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”

God stands ready to forgive and forget our sins.  He will “remove them from us as far as the east is from the west and remember them no more.”

Tell God where you are.  He knows anyway but when we confess our sin to Him; it opens up the windows of heaven and brings restitution between our Creator and us, His created beings.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord, I confess that I am a sinner.  Please search me and know my heart and see if there be any wicked way in me and lead me to the way everlasting.  I am so thankful, I serve a risen Savior who forgives me and cleanses me from all my sin and unrighteousness.  I love You Lord.  “Here I am to worship.  Here I am to bow down.  Here I am to say that You’re my God.  You are all together lovely…all together worthy…all together wonderful to me.”  In Jesus Name.  Amen

 

 

Leave a Reply

