Jesus Left His Throne

Standard

Devotion: Acts 7:49

I heard my pastor say:  “Jesus left His throne to climb into a feeding trough.”   Our Savior left perfect heaven, to come into an imperfect world.  Jesus came to turn our upside down world, right side up.  He did that for you and for me.

He stayed humble from the time He entered into the world, until the day He hung on that cruel cross. He never complained.  He just did what His Father asked.  He willingly left the eternal presence of His Father’s glory to come teach, preach and perform miracles.  He certainly came for those reasons, however; His all encompassing purpose, His chief goal, was to bring eternal life, to those who were eternally damned.  That was you and me, before we invited Jesus into our hearts.

He made abundant life available to all those who would receive Him.  He still does.

Can you picture with me, the King of Kings and Lord of Lords, gazing into His Father’s eyes?  I wonder if the conversation went something like this. The Father said, “Jesus, You are my beloved Son.  I need to make a way for human beings to overcome sin, death and grave.  I want You to leave Your heavenly throne and take on the human form of a baby.  You are THE WAY, THE TRUTH AND THE LIFE.  There is no other way man can be saved.  No one can come to Me, except by You. Jesus replied, “Not My will, but Yours be done, on earth as it is in heaven.”

The sweetest hope ever is proclaimed in Hebrews 12:2. One day all of heaven and earth will proclaim blessing and honor and glory and power, to Him who has returned to His throne.  See Revelation 5:11-13.

Prayer in Motion:

Precious Jesus, I worship You!  I honor You!  I bless Your Holy Name.  You alone are worthy to receive all the honor, all the praise, all the glory and all the blessing!  All the accolade belongs to You, oh Lord my God.  Thank You Lord for leaving Your throne room for me.  In Jesus Name I offer up this prayer. Amen

 

Leave a Reply

