Immanuel, God With Us

Standard

Devotion; Matthew 1:23

“God with us.”  Sitting at my kitchen table, I began to ruminate over Christmases past.  I recalled my first Christmas with my husband.  He bought me a puppy.  Talk about stealing my heart. I remember it as if it were yesterday.  We named this little poodle Mon Ami.  That’s French for: “My Friend.”  We were able to keep her until we had our dear Joshua, who was highly allergic to animals, so we gave her to another loving family.

There are always going to be Christmas’ firsts.  With each child, God brings sweet firsts.  There are Christmases in a new house or a new location.  I remember my first Christmas living in Myrtle Beach.  I had always lived in the Piedmont region of North Carolina; so dwelling near the sand and sea was different.   However; I met my life long friend and mentor Kay Boccabello. I believe that’s the whole reason for our moving to the coastal region.  I am eternally thankful because she has had that kind of impact on my life. She taught me the true meaning of “God with us.”  No matter what. No matter where.  No matter who. God is with us.

There will also always be Christmas lasts.  I remember the first Christmas without my mom.  I could hardly comprehend celebrating our Savior’s birth without her.  Then He reminded me, she was celebrating her first Christmas in heaven, with Jesus.  How could I be sad?  No more sorrow.  No more suffering.  No more pain.  She is with her Immanuel.  I also remember the first Christmas without my husband’s mom.  Maw Maw loved Christmas more than anybody I know.  She too is now celebrating Christmas with her Immanuel.

Precious friend, God is with us.  He is with us when we are formed in our mother’s womb.  He is with us in times of rejoicing. He is with us in times of sorrow and suffering.  He is with us when we lose our loved ones.  He is with us when we lose a job or a house or a relationship.  We are never alone.  He is with us always.

Prayer in Motion:

Immanuel, thank You for being with me always. You have never left me nor forsaken me.  You are faithful.  You are my best gift ever.  Thank You for being by my side in the saddest of times and in the happiest of times.  I worship You Immanuel, God with us.  In Jesus Name.  Amen

Leave a Reply

