The Lord’s Prayer and The 23rd Psalm

Standard

Devotion:  Matthew 6:9-13, Psalm 23

Several months ago, as I talked to the Lord; I said, Jesus, I would really love to lead another women’s retreat.  Lo and behold; the very next day my friend Kim called to ask if I would pray about leading a retreat for the women of her church.  I said “Kim, I don’t even have to pray.  I already asked God to open up a door of opportunity to lead a women’s retreat.  You are the answer to my prayer.”

The Lord nudged my heart to speak on the Lord’s Prayer and has added the 23 Psalm.  As always, I question my ability to hear His voice.  I began to question; “Will it be boring?” Everyone knows the Lord’s Prayer and the 23 Psalm; even non-Christians.

For the past three years; God has led me and a few other friends to do the Daniel fast; at the beginning of the year.  As much as I love to eat; I’ve begun to look forward to this precious time with the Lord and wonder how He will answer our prayers.  My friends and I have seen some pretty amazing things happen; during this three week time of drawing closer to God.  I will have to admit, He’s done the most in our personal and spiritual lives but what a way to begin the new year.

If God leads you; please feel free to join us, as we begin this time of seeking the Lord while He may be found, calling upon him while He is near.  It’s not a way of twisting God’s arm, or getting God to do what you want Him to do.

If you remember; Daniel and his friends ate only fruits and vegetables and drank water.  They were stronger than the other young men who ate the King’s food.  We want to pray strong, fervent, effectual prayers that avail much.

Let’s see the great and mighty things God will do as we begin 2016; praying, fasting, watching and waiting on Him. Try praying the Lord’s prayer found in Matthew 6:6-13 at least once a day. Then pray the 23 Psalm as well.  Pray them, don’t just say them. Ponder the words in your heart; as they make their way to the ears of the Lord.

As you examine these passages; look at how they both begin with praising the Name of the Lord our God.  “Our Father in heaven, hallowed be Your name.”  “The Lord is my Shepherd.” Both begin in praise and worship.  God says, “He inhabits the praises of His people.

Let’s try beginning our prayer time by acknowledging who He is…Holy: in the Lord’s prayer and Shepherd: in the 23 Psalm.  You have invited Him to come in to honor Him for who He is.  That’s where He dwells; in your praises.  If you can get a hold of that truth. Wow!  Your prayer life in 2016 is about to change in a powerful way!  Both passages end with the word “forever”.  This Holy Shepherd will be with us forever.  FOREVER!

Prayer in Motion:

It is my prayer that you will begin to dwell upon Your Holy Shepherd, as well as His “foreverness.”  May our prayer lives be forever changed as we pray through these scriptures together.

Leave a Reply

