The Lord Is

Standard

Devotion: Psalm 23

This is one of the most quoted, most favorited Psalms of all times.  It is used at funerals to comfort the comfortless.  It has been and continues to be preached through out the world.

Yahweh: I Am.  God is. I AM was there before the world was created.  It’s the name for God; the Jewish people wouldn’t even allow across their lips. No thing is hidden from Him.  He sees.  He is everywhere.  He is with the soldier in combat.  He sees deeds done in the darkness.  He sees kindnesses done that no one else notices. He is twenty four seven.  He never changes.  He just is!

Because the Lord is God and we are not; He is worthy of all our adoration and praise. He is the Great I AM.  He is there for you now and will be there for you in the future. When you begin to focus on the “I AM”,  your eyes are lifted from you, your problems, your circumstances.  Greater is He who is in you than He who is in the world.

There is healing in the words; “God is.”  The Lord is.  Powerful words; that when placed together and meditated upon, can change your life.  Place them beside of every I am.  I am nothing. God, You are everything to me.  I am stupid. God, You are all wise.  I am bad. God, You are good.   I am slow. God is not slow, as some count slowness.  I am messy.  God is a God of order.  He is everything I am not.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord, I acknowledge Your Name.  I AM.  You are from the beginning to the end.  There has never been a time You did not exist.  I take great comfort in knowing You are everywhere.  You go before me and behind me.  There is nowhere I can go that You are not already there.  Thank You Jesus for being the God who is.  In Jesus Name.  Amen

 

 

Leave a Reply

