Clothed in a Cloud

Standard

Devotion:  Revelation 10:1-4

God uses the word cloud, 147 times throughout His Word. Every time He mentions the word cloud, someone or something is being covered.  His Holy presence is always implicated.

In Genesis 9:13:  God says, “I set My rainbow in the cloud, and it shall be for the sign of the covenant between Me and the earth.”

In Exodus 13:21: God says, “And the Lord went before them by day in a pillar of cloud to lead the way…”

Exodus 24:16 declares, “Now the glory of the LORD rested on Mount Sinai, and the cloud covered it six days.  And on the seventh day He called to Moses out of the midst of the cloud.”

Exodus 40:38 tells us: “For the cloud of the LORD was above the tabernacle by day…”

In Matthew 24:30, we find…“then all the tribes of the earth will mourn, and they will se the Son of the Man coming on the clouds of heaven with power and great glory.”

A great encouragement is spoken in Hebrews 12:1, …”since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which so easily ensnares us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us.”

Revelation 14:16 reports that, “He who sat on the cloud thrust in His sickle on the earth, and the earth was reaped.”

1 Thessalonians 4:17 promises, “Then we who are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air.  And thus we shall always be with the Lord.”

In all these scriptures, God used His cloud to clothe, to lead, to show His glory, to speak promise, to protect, to bring justice to the earth and finally to bring His people to Himself.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord Jesus, thank You for the gift of Your cloud.  I look forward to the day when You come back and bring us to Yourself in the clouds.  I know that no man can see God and live.  You graciously used clouds to cover Yourself, so that man could hear what You had to say.  Thank You that You now speak through Your Holy Spirit.  In Jesus Name.  Amen

2 thoughts on “Clothed in a Cloud

  1. Lee Ann

    Libby,
    I love this! I have never looked at how the word cloud is used throughout God’s Word! Thanks for sharing! You are such a blessing to me and so many others, I give thanks to God for you always!!!
    Lee Ann

    • Oh my goodness, I love you sweet one! You are such a treasure to me and I give thanks to God for you always! You are such a help to me. You help me pray, work through questions about scripture, and have blessed me over and over again in more ways than I can even list. Thank you for loving me and pouring into my life. Have a wonderful day! I too, thank God for you always!

Leave a Reply

