No Matter What

Standard

Devotion:  1 Corinthians 16:13-14

Can you think of a few people whom you know will stand firm, no matter what?  They are willing to face the consequences; because they believe so strongly, that the Truth will stand alone.

Righteousness is not popular.  I’m not talking about self-righteousness.  I’m talking “right before God kind of  righteousness.”  Doing what’s right, even if it cost your friendship, your reputation, even your job.  That’s hard stuff.

Job said in Job 27:6: “I hold fast my righteousness and will not let it go.”

I know one such man, whose name is David Benham.  He lived in my neighborhood for several years before building a new house for his growing family.  I watched this young man stand for life for the unborn children. I watched him love his wife as Christ loved the church and gave himself for her.  I watched him “train up his children in the way they should go.”  Even after he moved away; I watched him take heat from HGTV, as he stood against the “gay” agenda.  David loves his wife. He loves his children.  He loves the unborn.  He loves gay people. All that he does; is done in love.  That’s why he bravely stands firm in the faith.  He is strong in the righteousness of Christ.

Ladies and gentlemen, we should desire to be righteous; make righteous choices, no matter the cost.  What is your price tag? At what point will you cave?  When the price is too high?  Are you willing to pay the cost, no matter what?

2 Chronicles 20:17 tell us:  “You will not need to fight in this battle.  Position yourselves, stand still and see the salvation of the Lord, who is with you, O Judah and Jerusalem!  Do not fear or be dismayed; tomorrow go out against them, for the LORD is with you.”

This promise stands today.  No matter what;
“Position yourselves, stand still and see the salvation of the Lord, who is with you.”

Prayer in Motion:  Lord Jesus, may I not fear what man can do to me.  If You are for me; who can be against me?  You are my Righteousness.  I would rather be “right with You” than with my fellow man.  You who knew no sin became sin for me; when You took my place on the cross.  May I stand still and see the salvation of the Lord, no matter what.

 

 

Leave a Reply

