Broken Things

Standard

Devotion:  2 Chronicles 7:14

My husband keeps lots of broken things because one day he’s going to “fix it.”  I want to throw away broken things because of the length of time it takes to get them fixed.  I am not patient.  I thought about this in relation to the Lord.  He is an expert in repairing broken things; like people’s hearts, young girl’s’ lives, addicts addictions.  However; it takes time.  He is willing to wait for us, as long as it takes. He wants us to be healed and whole.

I’m glad God is not like me.  He doesn’t throw us away because we aren’t working right.  We serve a patient God who does not want any person to perish without Him.  He longs for the saved and the unsaved to be repaired; no matter how long it takes.  He doesn’t give up on drawing us to Himself.  He will restore the years the locusts have eaten.  That is who He is.  He will never give up on His created beings.

Love is patient.  God is love; so He patiently waits to repair and restore His broken people.  I have 2 Chronicles 7:14 hidden in my heart; all  because of a pastor named Johnny Tiller, who had us repeat it every Sunday for a year.  You may want to do the same.  We are God’s people and we need healing for our sin sick souls.

2 Chronicles 7:14 says, “If my people which are called by my Name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face; then will I hear from heaven and forgive their sin and heal their land.”

Healing broken things can be a long process.  I’m so glad God “does long” with His broken people.  God is saying, be patient with people.  They are in process, as are we.  God is working long-suffering or patience in all His children.

When we wait upon the Lord; what happens?  You “mount up with wings as eagles.  You run and are not weary. You walk and do not faint.”  God is building you up in your most Holy faith. Perseverance = patience.  You are developing the character of God.  Where there is perseverance; there is hope and hope does not disappoint.

I need to be more patient, like my husband.  “Love is patient.” Don’t throw away broken things.  Give them time.

Prayer in Motion:

Jesus, thank You for never giving up on me; as broken as I am. “Just as I am without one plea;” Thank You for “training me in righteousness.”  I long to exhibit Your patience, kindness and love, to all the precious people with whom You have blessed me. In Jesus Name I pray.  Amen

Leave a Reply

