Meat Eating

Standard

Devotion:  John 4:32-34

I love to eat a big ole juicy steak.  I love the texture, the flavor and the way it hits the spot.  It is rare that I eat one; so when I do, it satisfies my craving in a way no other food can.

Long ago, there was a commercial that stated; “Where’s the beef?”  Growing up, my mom prepared meat with almost every meal. Meat eating has been God ordained since the beginning of time.  Hundreds of thousands of people; choose to eat vegan, for health reasons.

In our passage today; God declares He has meat we know not of.  He compares the meat we eat; with doing the will of His Father. The disciples were confused about the meat to which their Master was referring.  No one had seen him eat.  They did not realize Jesus was speaking from an eternal perspective.

Our Father in heaven wants His will to be done on earth; as it is in heaven.  The Lord is faithful to provide physical meat; as well as spiritual meat to those who want to finish well the work the Father has given them to do. He wants us to know His will and His plan for our lives.  “If we seek Him, we will find Him, when we search for Him with all our heart.”

Oh dear friend, how I pray, you will hunger for the meat you know not of.  Not the kind of meat your teeth can sink into but meat that will lead you to the Father’s will.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord Jesus, more than my earthly meat, I desire to do the will of my Father in heaven.  I hunger for You above my earthly meat. Precious Lord, may I find ultimate satisfaction in You and You alone.  In Jesus Name I pray.  Amen

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

