Righteous Judge

Standard

Devotion:  Psalm 7:8-11

A righteous judge defends aggressively. Let me explain. He is always advancing and moving forward because he is the one; who will pronounce the verdict.  He is continuously examining the evidence of the plaintiff and the defendant.  His goal is to deliver a “righteous verdict.”

Priscilla Shirer asks the question in her book, “The Armor of God,” What are some areas of your life where you need to be on the offensive instead of the defensive, taking back ground from the enemy?”  For me, it’s hurt feelings. I’ve allowed them to control my thoughts and keep me from valiantly moving forward. Only you can answer that question for yourself personally.

Then she asks, “What would this process look like in a practical sense?”  Here’s my answer.

  •     Bring the offense before the righteous judge.
  •     Let him examine you, the plaintiff.
  •     Let him examine the defendant.
  •     Trust your righteous judge with the verdict.

A righteous judge always reveals the truth.  That’s his job.  He longs to reveal the hidden things, so that the plaintiff and the defendant can move on with life.  Do your trust your Righteous Judge?  He is the One who tests the hearts and minds.  He is your defense.

God defends you before your enemies on a daily basis.  He allows adversity.  He says in:  In this world you will have tribulation but do not be afraid, for I have overcome the world. What a precious promise!

I think of Job.  Satan asked the LORD in Job 1:9-11, “Does Job fear God for nothing? Have you not made a hedge around him, around his household, and around all that he has on every side? You have blessed the work of his hands, and his possessions have increased in the land.  But now, stretch out your hand and touch all that he has, and he will surely curse You to Your face!”

If you’ve read the book of Job, you know he lost everything.  I mean everything, property, livestock, children, all earthly possessions.  How did he respond? Job 1:20-21 tells us, “Then Job arose, tore his robe, and shaved his head, and he fell to the ground and worshiped. And he said: “Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked shall I return there, The Lord gave, and the Lord has taken away; Blessed be the name of the LORD.”  Verse 22 tells us, “In all this Job did not sin nor charge God with wrong.”

In Job 2:9, even Job’s wife told him to “Curse God and die.” Verse 10 he asked her; “Shall we indeed accept good from God, and shall we not accept adversity?  In all this Job did not sin with his lips.”

Although Job was continually hounded with verbal abuse by his friends; he stated in Job 20:25:  “I know that my Redeemer lives; And He shall stand at last on the earth:..”

Dear reader, you stand before a Righteous Judge.  No matter what you are going through; He is your Blessed Redeemer! He will redeem and restore to you all that has been lost.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord Jesus, I acknowledge that You are my Righteous Judge. You are my Blessed Redeemer.  Nothing takes You by surprise. You are for me and not against me.  You will accomplish all that concerns me.  You are before me and behind me both now and always.  I trust You my Righteous Judge.  With all my heart; I trust You.  In Jesus Name.  Amen!

 

 

Leave a Reply

