Plot to Kill Jesus

Standard

Devotion:  Luke 22:1-5

I recently went to see the movie, “Risen.”  It’s the story of one man’s journey to Christ.  He literally helped put Jesus to death. The whole plot surrounds his search for the body of Christ.

Luke 22 tells us Passover was drawing nigh.  The scribes and Pharisees feared the people who followed Jesus.  They wanted Christ, dead.  Christ’s adversary Satan, entered into Judas, one of His disciples.  For money, he sold the information of Jesus’ location.

Jesus had just broken the bread at the first Lord’s Supper Table and said in verses 19-20; “This is my body, which is given for you.  Do this in remembrance of me. And likewise the cup after they had eaten saying,This cup that is poured out for you is the new covenant in my blood.”

Then came that fateful statement intended for Judas in verse 21; “But behold, the hand of him who betrays me is with me on the table.”  Of course the disciples began to question one another, who could do such a thing to their Master?

While still at the table, Jesus foretold Peter’s denial.  Peter stated, he was ready to go with Christ both to prison and to death.  Christ told Peter, the rooster would not crow until he had denied Him three times.

Our Lord drew apart to the Mount of Olives to pray.  He had every human emotion possible to man; as He faced His crucifixion. He was a man of sorrows acquainted with grief.  Our Lord sweat drops of blood, as He prayed in verse 42: “Father if You are willing, remove this cup from me.  Nevertheless, not my will, but yours be done.”

Judas came leading a crowd and drew near to Jesus to kiss Him. Can you imagine being Judas; looking into the eyes of the Son of God as He asks, “Judas, would you betray the Son of Man with a kiss?”  No wonder Judas later hung himself.

As I read verses 54-62 of Luke 22 we read of Peter’s denial of Jesus.

  •     1st denial.   He said to a servant girl, “Woman I do not know                            Him.”
  •     2nd denial   To a man, “Man, I am not one of them.”
  •     3rd denial    To another man.  “Man, I do not know what you                             are talking about.”

The rooster crowed and it was then that Peter remembered the words of His Lord.  Verse 62 tells us, “And he went out and wept bitterly.”

Prayer in Motion:

Oh Jesus, my sin is ever before me.  My sin played a part, even in this plot to kill Jesus.  How many times have I denied You? The times I did not speak up for You.  The times I dis-obeyed the Holy Spirit’s nudging in my heart to say or do something.  I pray You will forgive me and renew a right spirit within me.  Thank You Lord.  In Jesus Name I pray.  Amen

 

Leave a Reply

