You are a Treasure

Standard

Devotion:  Revelation 21:11-21

God speaks of His choice, precious stones all through out the Old and New Testament.  As I studied this passage and my Bible Study Fellowship notes this week; God reminded me, just as these treasures were mined from the earth; so are we His children.

Look at Exodus 28:17-21 and you will find these twelve stones in the high priest’s robe, each one having the tribal name inscribed upon it.  The robe was made into a square.  IT hung over the heart of the priest, secured to the shoulders by a gold chord.

It was known as the beast plate of judgement because it was intended to work atonement for errors in pronouncing judgment.

According to Jewish history Moses used a stone known as a Shamir.  It was the size of a grain of barley. With it; he engraved each tribal name upon the precious stones.  When the high priest would go into the Holy of Holies; his royal robe adorned with these precious stones were to remind God of His precious people.

I find it interesting that they were worn right over the heart. God’s people are His heart. I love the verse found in the Old and New Testament that reminds us of how God has engraved us on His heart.

Jeremiah 31:33  “But this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after those days, says the LORD; I will put My law in their minds, and write it on their hearts; and I will be their God, and they shall be My people.”

Paul quotes the exact same verse in Hebrews 8:10.  Jesus came to fulfill the law, not to abolish it.  We are His precious choice and living stones.  He longs to write His-story on our hearts.

2 Corinthians 3:3 tells us, “clearly you are an epistle of Christ, ministered by us, written not with ink but by the Spirit of the Living God, not on tablets of stone but on tablets of flesh, that is, of the heart.”

Oh child of God; do you not see what a treasure you are, to the Lord Jesus Christ?  You are written on His very heart.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord Jesus, You are my treasure in my earthen vessel.  I do love you so much!  I want to treasure You with my life, daily.  I desperately need You on a moment by moment basis.  Thank You for loving me so unconditionally and calling me Your treasure.  In Jesus Name.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

