Confronting the Truth

Standard

Devotion:  2 Corinthians 13:5-8

If you have been a Christian very long; there may have been a time when you doubted your salvation.  For me, it was during the first years of my marriage.  There are many pamphlets out there; one of which is called, “Do You Know for Sure?”  by Bill Bright.  I prayed to receive Christ at the age of seven, so I began to wonder if I was saved.

I decided to confess this to my pastor and together we decided that I should be re-baptized just to say;  I love the Lord and I want the world to know that I am a Christian.  I found a scripture that says,

“Suffer the little children to come unto me, for of such is the kingdom of God.”  Mark 10:14

We are to come to Jesus with child like faith; ready to repent of our sins, and to invite Him into our hearts and learn from HIm. Children explicitly trust their parents and other grown ups to watch over them, protect them and provide for them.  It’s the same with Christ.

                    Jesus alone can provide salvation.

It’s not by works but “by grace we are saved through faith; it is a gift of God.”  (Ephesians 2:8). We come to Him with child-like faith.

Confronting the truth requires examining the situation; whether it be yourself or someone else.  Many times we begin to speculate rather than researching the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth.  You must have the whole truth; the whole counsel of God, before you can confront yourself or anyone else.

What will the truth do for you?  It will set you FREE!  Confession is good for the soul.  It changes our ability to hear the truth from God’s Word and yes “if we will be still; we will know that He is God.” (Psalm 46:10)

The truth about us can be hard to hear and confront.  However; if we are willing, Our amazing God longs to do amazing things in your life.  Ask Him to search your heart and reveal anything that needs to be removed, so that You can receive and apply the truth of His Word implanted in your soul.

Confronting the truth about you; can change how you act and react, to each of life’s circumstances.

Confronting the truth about God can change who you become.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord, please let me confront the truth about me.  May I examine myself to make certain I am a child of the King.   I want to be the most effective servant I can possibly be, for your honor and glory Lord.  In Jesus Name, Amen.

 

 

Leave a Reply

