Morning

Standard

Devotions; Psalm 30:5

The first part of the morning is my favorite time of the day.  It’s still dark outside and there might be one bird chirping; announcing the sun will soon be up.  It’s my time to be still and listen in silence for the voice of my Lord;  time for prayer, and writing.  I absolutely love the morning.

Some people are night people who can say up half the night. They actually hate the morning.  I cannot begin to relate.  My mom used to say; “You can’t hoot with the owls and soar with the eagles.  It’s either one or the other.”

There are 214 verses in the Bible about morning.  There are 313 about night.  You say; “Aha, God loves night people the most.” Wait a minute.  God created both.  One for darkness and one for light.  One for sleeping and one for waking.  I prefer morning but I do not condemn those who stay up late.  We are both made in the image of God.  Right?  Our body clocks are just different.

I did not read all 214 verses on morning but I did choose a few that speak strongly to morning time.

Psalm 5:3      “My voice You shall hear in the morning, O LORD;                         In the morning I will direct it to You And I will look                          up.”

Psalm 88:13  “But to You I have cried out, O LORD, And in the                           morning my prayer comes before You.”

Psalm 143:8  “Cause me to hear Your lovingkindness in the                                 morning, For in You do I trust.”      

Isaiah 40:4b   “He awakens Me morning by morning, He                                      awakens My ear, to listen with the ear of a                                    disciple.     

Isaiah 58:8       “Then your light shall break forth like the                                       morning, Your healing shall spring forth                                         speedily, and Your righteousness shall go                                     before you; The  glory of the Lord shall be                                     your rear guard.”    

Jesus went out early in the morning to pray and seek His Father’s face.  So for all you morning people, enjoy the beauty of the time with your Father God.  Listen for His still small voice before everyone else rises.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord, I give my mornings to You.   When I pray, I look to You for answers.  Teach me Lord to listen with the ear of a disciple.  May I wait upon You in hope for what each day will bring.  In Jesus Name I pray.  Amen

 

Leave a Reply

