A Fire in My Bones

Standard

Devotion:  Jeremiah 20:7-11

I remember the first time I heard a friend use the term; “a fire in my bones.”  Jo Ellen Potts said; “God’s Word is in my heart; like a fire shut up in my bones.  I cannot hold it back.  I will share it with anyone who will listen.” True to her statement straight from God’s Word; she teaches and lives out her passion for the Word of the Lord, from the time she was saved.

Jo was for many years; the key teaching leader for Bible Study fellowship in Raleigh, NC.  Along with her husband; she taught Sunday School to single adults.  Jo has traveled to speak and lead many Women’s Retreats. This woman has a powerful testimony and witness, to the saving grace of her Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.  She and her husband Richard; endured the unthinkable life tribulation; when they lost their daughter Merideth to murder.

Even though devastated; they both remained teaching leaders in Bible Study Fellowship and continued to teach Sunday School to adults. How did they continue to teach God’s Word and lead people to a deeper walk with Jesus Christ; when they themselves were in such deep pain?

If they did not speak the word of the Lord it became:

“in their hearts like a burning fire, shut up in their bones…”

No matter what has happened to you Christian; God’s Word should be a fire in your bones.  I believe Satan knew the effectiveness of Jo Ellen and Richard’s teaching and leading.  He tried his best to take them out of the loop.

                            The enemy did not win!

Although they were cast down; neither of them were cast out. God’s Word burns so deeply inside of this couple; their enemy would not accomplish his purpose.

Jo and Richard now reside in Myrtle Beach, SC; where they serve in their local church.  I am blessed for the years I was able to live five minutes away from these dear friends.  They are finishing well; the race set before them.  They will never stop giving out God’s Word, whether it be with groups of people or individuals whom God brings into their sphere of influence.

Prayer in Motion:

Oh God, I pray Your Word will become a fire in my bones.  May I never hold it back; nor be induced by life’s circumstances, to keep it to myself.  Your Words are life changing to my soul. Jesus; may I give out Your truth till my last breath.  In Jesus Name.  Amen

Leave a Reply

