You Never Bother God

Standard

Devotion: Philippians 4:6

“I don’t want to bother God.”  You’ve heard that statement made. In fact; my actions have conveyed this attitude many times. There’s a tendency in Christendom; to not bother God with the “small stuff.”  We’ve all heard the statement; “It’s all small stuff.”  Is it?

                Nothing is too great or too small for God.

Ever prayed to find something?  keys?  a piece of jewelry? your car?

(For those who follow this blog regularly; I know I’ve told this story before; but I believe someone needs to hear it again.)

While living in Garden City, S.C. my friend Kay and I took my children to the beach.  Ready to go play in the water; she removed her pinky “Jesus” ring, laying it on our quilt.  We played in the water for about thirty to forty minutes.  Upon returning to our quilt; the ring was gone!

Kay made the statement; “Well I guess He doesn’t want anything to do with me.”  I asked; What?  Who?  “Jesus,” she replied. Silently I prayed.  “Oh God, did you hear that?”  Well, of course He did. He hears every word we say and knows every thought we think.  We searched and searched, all to no avail.

Desperately I began to pray; “Lord, please help us find Kay’s Jesus ring.  Send someone with a metal detecter.  It was late in the afternoon and the dinner hour was quickly approaching.   Folding up our quilt and walking toward our cars; I looked back one more time; straining to see someone with a metal detector.  “Wait,” I cried.  Strolling down the beach, there wasn’t just one, not two, but three people coming with metal detectors.

These people had no idea they were an answer to prayer. It took less than five minutes for this precious little ring to be found.  It had fallen off the quilt and covered by the wind blown sand.  I said, “See, God wants everything to do with you.”

                       You never bother God.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord Jesus, thank You for the knowledge that I never bother You. You are never too busy to hear my prayers.  You care about the things that concern me.  Thank You for being a God who is Omnicient, Omnipresent and Omnipotent.  I trust You Lord.  In Jesus Name.  Amen

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

