Fresh Daily Bread

Standard

Devotion:  Psalm 37:25

Nothing smells better than fresh bread baking in the oven.  It’s been many years since I have eaten “real” bread.    Growing up, I used to eat almost half a loaf at a time.  There were many days of the week, we could smell the bread baking at the Waldension Bakery in the nearby town of Valdese.

Being gluten sensitive feels like a curse to me; because I love bread better than anything.  My daddy had full blown celiac disease, as does my sister.  Both would double over in pain, if there happened to be any hidden gluten in a prepared dish.

As the Israelites wandered in the wilderness; God gave them fresh mana every morning.  They could only gather enough for the day or it would become wormy.  God wanted them to understand His provision was daily and it was fresh every morning.

     There was fresh bread from heaven on a daily basis.  

Can you imagine?  God says in today’s passage; He will not allow His own to go begging for bread.

While in the wilderness, the Israelites became very hungry. They were accusing Moses of bringing them to the wilderness to die from hunger.  In Exodus 16:4 “The LORD said to Moses, I am about to rain bread from heaven for you.”  The people were to go out and gather a day’s portion every day.  On  the sixth day only, they were to gather twice as much, so they would have enough for the Sabbath Day.

In John 6:35    “Jesus said unto them, I am the bread of life: he that cometh to me shall never hunger; and he that believeth on me shall never thirst.”

As Jesus calls Himself the Bread of Life; why do we refuse to come to Him on a daily basis?  Morning by morning He stands ready to feed us fresh mana from His Word.

Come to Jesus ready to eat His Word.  Take It into your mind and heart.  Trust Him to fill your mouth with only what is good and right and pure on a daily basis.

Matthew 5:6 reminds us:  “Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord, Jesus I long to have fresh daily bread straight from heaven.  I want  to open my mouth and have you fill it with Your directives, Your proclamation, Your hope, Your filling of the Holy Spirit.  I love You and believe that You will bring Your bread to me; morning by morning. I trust You for my fresh, daily bread. It’s in Your Holy Name I pray. Amen

Leave a Reply

