Out of the Storm

Standard

Devotion:  Job 38:1-3

“In the middle of the storm; you remain in control.  Your love surrounds me, in the eye of the storm.”  While driving to my friend Becky’s house; I was singing along with this familiar song. I kid you not; a raging storm blew up in the middle of my ten minute drive.  Two huge branches broke off, in two different neighbor’s front yards.  There was lightening, thunder and hail pelting my car.  I could hardly see the road in front of me.

Like this physical storm; poor Job went through a horrific storm in his own life.  Lost all he had, his children, his cattle, his sheep and donkeys, his camels, his servants.  How did Job reply to all of this loss?

Job 1:21-22 tells us, “Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked shall I return there  The LORD gave, and the LORD has taken away; Blessed be the name of the LORD. In all this Job did not sin nor charge God with wrong.”

Satan had desperately tried to steal Job’s lifestyle of worship. God proved the devil wrong; when He allowed Job’s arch enemy to take everything, accept his own life.  God proved the devil wrong!  Job and God had a daily, close relationship.  He knew how to draw nigh to his God and God always drew nigh to Him.

Job began to question the LORD his God.  God answered him in chapters 38-41.  Job answered the LORD in the last chapter of the book bearing his own name.  In chapter 42:2  Job replied, “I know that You can do everything, And that no purpose of Yours can be withheld from You.”

Are you in your own personal storm right now?  God speaks in the storm.   Listen for His voice.  He is with you dear one.

Prayer in Motion:

Oh God, hear my cry to You.  I want to hear Your voice in the middle of the storm.  I know You remain in control.  “You can do everything.  No purpose of Yours can be withheld from You.”  Thank You my Blessed Assurance.  I trust You in the storm.  In Jesus Name.  Amen

Leave a Reply

