Parting Words

Standard

Devotion: “Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, “teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.”   Matthew 28:19-20

These were the last words of our resurrected Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ..  He used these words to commission all who would come into a relationship with Him.

When someone dies; we desperately try to remember their parting words.  That’s why it’s important to refrain from saying every word that pops into your head.  Paul said, ” We struggle not against flesh and blood but against powers and principalities. Our flesh is weak but God’s Holy Spirit will help us be strong.

In his final hours; David spoke the words we find in 1 Kings 2:2-4; to his son Solomon. These were words Solomon would never forget.  “Be strong and prove yourself a man.  Keep the charge of the LORD your God…that you may prosper in all that you do and wherever you turn, that the LORD may fulfill HIs word which He spoke concerning me, saying, “If your sons take heed to their way, to walk before Me in truth with all their heart and with all their soul, He said, You shall not lack a man on the throne of Israel.”

David was speaking a blessing not only over Solomon but all who would come after him.  David was part of the lineage of Jesus.  Both David and Jesus Christ spoke words to the people of God that are full of promise and hope.

When I  leave someone’s presence; will my  words edify or tear down? Will they be filled with hope and encouragement?  My parting words for you, dear reader this day:  “May the Lord be between us, while we are apart from one another.”

Prayer in Motion:

Lord Jesus, may I always leave behind hope and encouragement.  You were my example.  Help me to heed your parting words, to go and make disciples. Help me to edify those You have given me.  I repent for all those times I have parted with unkind words.  In Jesus Name.  Amen

 

 

Leave a Reply

