Conformed or Transformed

Standard

Devotion:  “And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.”  Romans 12:2

It’s easy to conform to the ways of the world.  We live in the world; however, God says we are not to be “of the world.”  One song calls it a “slow fade.”  You give in a little here, a little there and before you know it;  you look no different from the world. Non Christians observe Christians frequently consuming strong drink.  They surmise it must be ok.  They see believers living together before they say I do.  These lost souls are watching how we spend our time and money; so they go and do the same.

         Slowly but surely the standard for believers                                             has been lowered.

Whether at work, in the market place or in the neighborhood, you are being watched by an onlooking world.  Does God really mean for us to come out and be set apart? Leviticus 20:26 tells us: “And you shall be holy to Me, for I the Lord am holy, and have separated you from the peoples, that you should be Mine”.

You might argue; we are now under grace and not under the law.  According to 1 Corinthians 10:23  It’s true, “All things are permissible, but not all things are profitable.” In other words; not everything edifies the kingdom of God.  Before we readily adopt the ways of the world; let us examine ourselves through the Scriptures; to see if we are living a life holy and set apart.

               Do not be conformed but be transformed!

Prayer in Motion:

Lord, forgive me for all the times I have conformed to the ways of the world.  I want to come out and be separate; to be holy as You are Holy.   You are my judge and my King.  I am under Your authority.  I want to be transformed by the renewing of my mind. It does not matter what others may say.  Here I am to worship. Here I am to bow down.  Here I am to say that You’re my God. Help me to live my life so that it is pleasing, holy and acceptable to You.  In Jesus Name.  Amen

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

