Back to the Path

Standard

Devotion:Psalm 119:105

My friend Linda and I took a walk in the woods behind her house.  Her husband had mowed a path for his sons to run and walk on.  It is a very quiet, beautiful place.  The only noise you hear out there are birds and crickets chirping.  We took a short cut and I thought for a moment we were lost; but up ahead was an opening which led us right back onto the well mown path.

You’ve read all the scriptures.  There are over seventy that address our paths.  Here are just a few.

Psalm 16:11  “You will show me the path of life; In Your presence is fullness of joy; At Your right hand are pleasures forevermore.”  What encouraging words for anyone who believes they have gotten on the wrong path.

Psalm 17:5  “Uphold my steps in Your paths, That my footsteps may not slip.”  A great prayer to pour out before your Father, when you feel unsteady and afraid of the high places He’s called you to walk upon.

Psalm 23:3   “He restores my soul; He leads me in the paths of righteousness For His name’s sake.”  My soul can be restored and the Lord will do it? That is the best offer I’ve ever heard from anyone.   God promised to lead me onto the right path?  God Himself, the Creator of the universe and of me?  It sounds too good to be true, especially for a person who finds herself easily lost.  Best news ever.

Your God wants you on the right path everyday, all day long

Psalm 27:11 Teach me Your way, O Lord, And lead me in a smooth path, because of my enemies.”  

Not instead of, not in place of, but because of my enemies.

God wants to lead you to a smooth path because of your enemies.  Wow!  Who would do that but God?  No one on earth loves us like that.  He wants you on the right path more than anyone on the earth.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord, thank You for always bringing me back to the right path. You always have my back.  You go before me every step of the way.  I will never get over the fact that You are ever present and always ready to lead me on the right path.  I love You Lord.  In Jesus Name.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

