The Lord Strengthened Me

Standard

Devotion:  2 Timothy 4:17-18

“But the Lord stood with me and strengthened me.”  What is trying to defeat you right now?  What circumstance would overtake you, consume you; if you only would allow it to do so?

Paul declared in verse 16 that “at his first defense no one stood with him, but all forsook him.”  It can be overwhelming to stand alone in this world.  If the Lord stands with you dear one, you are not alone; not now, not ever.  He promised to never leave you, nor forsake you.

There are times that no one understands like Jesus.  He wants you to cast your cares upon Him, for He cares for you.  He wants you to solely depend upon Him.  He allowed things to be this way so that you would learn to trust, that He will accomplish what concerns you.  Nothing is too hard for Him.

Only believe.  All things are possible to the one who believes. Remember this old hymn.  “My hope is built on nothing less than Jesus blood and righteousness.  I dare not trust the sweetest frame but holy lean on Jesus Name.  On Christ the solid Rock I stand.  All other ground is sinking sand.”

God longs to give you “beauty for ashes, strength for fear, gladness for mourning and peace for despair.”  The Lord is waiting to hear your voice crying out to Him.  He is your Redeemer, precious Lamb of God.  “Turn your eyes upon Jesus and look full in His wonderful face.  The things of earth will grow strangely dim in the light of His glory and grace.”

Paul speaks the words spoken to Him by the Spirit of the Living God.  Will you choose to make these words your own?  “But the Lord stood with me and strengthened me.”  He wants others to see you living out your looking up.  He will stand with you and strengthen you, any time you are weak.

Prayer in Motion: 

Oh God, I need Your strength.  I know you stand with me and will strengthen me, for the things You’ve called me to do.  I long for Your message to be preached fully through me.  In my life Lord, be glorified.  I can only be strong in You Lord and work in the strength of Your might.  I entreat You by Your mercies.  In Jesus Name.  Amen

Leave a Reply

