Exemption or Companion?

Standard

Devotion: Psalm 91:14-15

Outward observation of those around you could easily convince you to believe there are people who live in their own perfect world.  They never seem to have any trials or a hardships. None whatsoever.

God said in John 16: 32-33

32 “A time is coming and in fact has come when you will be scattered, each to your own home. You will leave me all alone. Yet I am not alone, for my Father is with me.

33 “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

Clayton King asks the question in his book Stronger; “Would you rather have an exemption from hard times or a companion in hard times?  If we are living and breathing we are not immune from hard times.  So where does our help come from.  “Our help comes from the Lord, maker of heaven and earth.” from Psalm 121

God is our protecter and defender; however, Clayton says, “What gives hope to the one in trouble is not just the protection of God.  It’s the presence of God.  His presence is your protection.”

According to 2 Corinthians 12:9 “God’s grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.  Therefore I will boast more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.”

When a problem drags on and on; you ask yourself, “Will there ever be any resolution?”   We like happy endings to our crisis. The only thing we have to cling to during our fear filled nights; is the presence of our Abba Father.  God is present during the dark night of the soul.

Clayton says, “Fear must be present for faith to exist at all.  Fear is the thing that calls faith out of us. The obstacle that’s too big for us, the situation we can’t fix, the sickness we can’t cure; these bring fear to the surface.”

As a child; I was afraid of everything; the dark, the monsters in the closet, and even to go to the basement after dark. Literal darkness can bring fear; however, it’s the fear of the unknown that looms large, when we are afraid of what lies ahead.  My mom taught me the scripture; “What time I am afraid, i will trust in Thee.”  Psalm 56:3

Faith is not the absence of fear.  It means moving forward in the face of fear. When the bills keep coming and the dark clouds gather, peace is possible when you have the presence of God.

Our difficult circumstances bring waves of fear and sometimes panic. You are not exempt dear friend; God is with you.” He will never leave you, nor forsake you.”  The presence of your constant companion will bring peace in the place of panic and a ray of light to your darkest night.

Prayer in Motion:

God, even though You may not deliver me out of this trial; You will be with me.  Thank You for Your comfort and peace. Your presence goes with me, stays with me twenty four seven.   I love You Lord.  My heart belongs to You. I’m holding onto Your promise that You will work all things together for my good and Your glory.  In Jesus Name, I offer up this prayer.  Amen.

                                         

Leave a Reply

