Appointed Afflictions

Standard

Devotion: 1 Thessalonians 2:3-4

Conviction flooded my soul as I read this verse.  Paul is telling the Thessalonians:

           “Don’t be shaken by your afflictions.  We are                                             appointed to do this.”   

I’ll bet you haven’t heard that from the pulpit in a while; maybe never.  Paul had just told them they would suffer affliction.  That’s not a popular nor appealing message.   It does not promote the health and wealth prosperity gospel.  People do not want to hear suffering forecasted.  Prophets are called negative, unloving, and narrow minded.

God’s Word forecasts tribulations for all believers. Jesus said; “In this world you will have tribulation; but don’t be afraid, for I have overcome the world.”  He also said, “Neither death, nor life, nor any other created thing, shall be able to separate you from the love of Christ.”  “No weapon formed against you shall prosper.”

God Himself bears you up. He holds you in the palm of His righteous right hand.  Do not allow your suffering to be in vain. You are appointed to do this suffering. “If God is for you, who can be against you?”

Whether you are suffering physically, emotionally or spiritually; can you say to yourself, “I am appointed to do this.”  I will not be shaken by my afflictions. There was a time the disciples could not drive out a demon in a young man.

Mark 9 tells us: 28 When He came into the house, His disciples began questioning Him privately, “Why could we not drive it out?” 29 And He said to them, “This kind cannot come out by anything but prayer.”

The Greek word for prayer in this verse is proseuche, which means the kind of prayer that is earnest, worship filled prayer. 

It is hard to hear that our afflictions are appointed to us by God. In other words, He allows them to come into our lives.  They are God ordained. Why?  For the perfecting of our faith.  Ask God to help you glorify Him and learn to rejoice in your suffering, for the glory that is to be revealed.

Prayer in Motion:

Oh God, I thank You for my appointed afflictions.  I know that You are using them to train me in righteousness.  Help me to continually glorify You through it all.  May I trust You to accomplish what concerns me.  I love You Lord.  In Jesus Name. Amen

2 thoughts on “Appointed Afflictions

  1. Greg Nard

    Thank you my dear Libby. Just what I needed to hear today. Been in my prayer closet ,read your devotion and Charles Stanley devotion. Pray for me as I go up the road to see my Dad that I love dearly. He lost his best friend for over sixty years and know he is heart broken, but at the same time he knows he is in the presence of the Lord.

Leave a Reply

