Without Offense

Standard

Devotion:  Matthew 11:6

I heard my son say; “Don’t be offendable.”  That’s another one of those made up words.  Although hard to receive; correction is good for the soul that has ears to hear.  I want to become un-offendable.

The Bible tells us not to take up an offense.  Can we live a life without being offendable?  In other words, are you able to keep from offending others or being offended yourself?  It works both ways.

Let’s see what Paul says in 2 Corinthians 7:12.  “So although I wrote to you, it was not for the sake of the offender nor for the sake of the one offended, but that your earnestness on our behalf might be made known to you in the sight of God.”

One offends and the other is offended.  Christ told us in today’s verse that we are not to take up an offense toward Him.  In other words, we are not to stumble over Him or His words.

Becoming un-offendable; (I’m taking liberties with this non-word.) is definitely a process.  I believe this character trait is one God Himself longs to work in us.  Conviction falls hard when you begin to pray, God, I commit this offensive act done toward me into Your loving hands.  I die to these offenses.  I want to become un-offendable.

Paul was earnest in his proclamation.  Jesus said, “Blessed is he who is not offended by me.”  Who allowed the offense in the first place?  It was the same God who closed the mouth of the lions, when Daniel was placed in their den.  Daniel trusted God, whether or not the lions tore him to shreds.  He trusted God with his whole heart and salvation came.

I would say most offenses are spoken. There are action offenses; however the spoken ones play over and over in your mind and are equally offensive.  The Bible says, “Out of the heart the mouth speaks.”  Argh!  So you and I are responsible for what comes out of our mouths, as well as what we do with the words spoken to us.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord, by the power and blood of Jesus, may I become un-offendable.  May I cling to the Rock that is higher than I.  My eyes are on You Jesus.  You are transforming me into Your image both now and until the day You take me home.  I trust

 

 

Leave a Reply

