The Grace Place

Standard

Devotion:  John 15:14

Webster’s definition of grace is as follows:  “a controlled, polite, and pleasant way of behaving.”

When my granddaughter was three years old; her great grandmother asked her to say grace at the table.  She said; the word; “grace”.  I laughed out loud.  What Ryann didn’t understand was the fact; her Grammy Ann was asking her to say the blessing over our food.

I’m not certain when grace became an equal word to prayer. Possibly it’s because such grace has been extended to us through our Lord Jesus, who ever lives to make intercession for us.

Let’s face it; everyone in your world is not going to love you. They may not even like you.  Jesus Himself; only had his family and twelve close friends.  Well; eleven; Judas was His betrayer.

In my very heart; I know Jesus treated Judas like his other disciples.  He never excluded him.  He washed his feet along with the other eleven.  Jesus treated Judas with respect, even though He ultimately knew he would betray Him.  Jesus poured out unconditional love on this disciple.   He extended the grace of God daily to Judas.  Yes, we are required to love the people in our sphere of influence, no matter what they say or do.

I’m calling it: The Grace Place.

The grace place is built upon loving others as Christ loved them. The following scriptures bring this to light.

By this all will know that you are My disciples, if you have love for one another.”

He who has My commandments and keeps them, it is he who loves Me. And he who loves Me will be loved by My Father, and I will love him and manifest Myself to him.”

Now hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out in our hearts by the Holy Spirit who was given to us.

by purity, by knowledge, by long-suffering, by kindness, by the Holy Spirit, by sincere love,
I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.

from whom the whole body, joined and knit together by what every joint supplies, according to the effective working by which every part does its share, causes growth of the body for the edifying of itself in love.

fulfill my joy by being like-minded, having the same love, being of one accord, of one mind.

All of the above scriptures show us how to live in the grace place.  When it seems impossible to give out; do it anyway.  Stay in the grace place.  Remember; “To whom much is given; much is required.”

Prayer in Motion:

Lord Jesus; because You have given me much grace; may I pour it out on those You have given me.  Thank You for pouring grace out upon this undeserving child.  Lord, help live in the grace place.  In Jesus Name.  Amen

 

Leave a Reply

