Attitude

Standard

Devotion:  Philippians 3:15-16

Attitude!  We all have one.  How many times did you hear your mother say; “Change that attitude!” or “Do you need an attitude adjustment?”  We knew what that meant!

Attitude adjustments can be painful.  What attitude are you struggling with right now?  Maybe it’s an attitude of; “It’s my right!”  Possibly, you feel disrespected or slandered.  Whatever the cause of your inward struggle; God longs to change your attitude.  Yes, yours!

The Greek word for attitude is (phroneo); meaning to have understanding; to be wise and modest in my opinion of myself.

Is it even possible for our long held attitudes to be changed?  As Christians; our desire should be to grow more and more in real knowledge and all discernment.  God wants to talk to you about your attitude on a daily basis. Why?…

                      because every day is different.

How can we adjust our attitude?  First of all acknowledge the fact;

  It’s not all about you; your rights, your needs, your wants.  

I know; it’s hard to come into agreement with God on this fact.  Ask the Savior to help you.

  • Apply God’s Word to your attitude.  Check to see if it lines           up with His powerful two edged Sword. Allow the Scripture           to transform your attitude.  Remember; old attitudes die               hard. Give God and yourself time to transform your attitude.
  • Write down how God speaks to you through specific                  Scriptures. Post it on your mirror or dashboard. Keep it                before you.
  • Ask yourself; “Am I living to God’s standard; the one He’s          calling me to live up to?”

It’s easy to allow life to form your attitudes.  It takes perseverance and endurance to seek God’s face and allow Him to make changes in your attitudes.  He will accomplish what concerns you.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord Jesus, I want my attitude to change!  I want to have Your mind and Your heart.  “Search me oh God and know my heart. See if there be any wicked way in me and lead me to the way everlasting.”  Thank You for working a change of attitude in my heart.  I love You Lord.  Amen

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

