Enemies of the Cross

Standard

Devotion:  Philippians 3:18-19

Who are the true enemies of the cross?  Is it the Muslim Jehadists or the atheists?  They are definitely not Christ followers.  They hate Christ and Christians with a vengeance. In fact; their whole purpose is to discredit the One we serve.

The enemies of the cross in this passage; are the opponents of legalists who celebrated their liberty in Christ, to the indulgence of their flesh.  He was addressing those who did not want to follow Jesus by taking up their cross of self-denial.

They disregarded God’s holiness giving ammunition to the legalists’ accusation that Paul preached a cheap grace requiring no commitment of their lives.

       Those who profess religion while sitting in the                     pews of the church and yet lead ungodly lives are…

                       the worst enemies of the cross.

Their god is their belly.  This is not necessarily food but the pleasures of the body, mind and soul.  Their glory is in their shame, their misplaced priorities.  They have glorified things of which they should be totally ashamed.  The focus of their lives is on earthly things.

I don’t know about you; but much of the time; my priorities are misplaced.  My life becomes totally out of focus; turning inward rather than upward.  It gives me a skewed view of what is truly important. God forgive me.  I so long to be more about Him, ready to do His will versus mine.

Prayer in Motion:

God, please forgive me for the times I have been more of an enemy of the cross than a disciple.  Jesus, help me to die to myself and live for You.  I want to please You more than myself or others.  In Jesus Name.  Amen!

 

Leave a Reply

