Cause for Pause

Standard

Devotion: Philippians 4:8

What brings you pause?  When you see people bow their heads to pray?  When you hear a siren?  When you hear a grown man cry?  When you witness tragedy? What brings pause in the middle of your hectic life?

My friend Lisa Teasdale; sent me a text, that made me pause to reflect on my faith.  Here’s what she said:

              “…then I have to pray for God to pause my                                             thoughts and steady my faith.”

Ask yourself this question:  “Do I know how to take every thought captive to the obedience of Christ?”  Every decision begins with our thought process, which plays a great part in the decisions we make.  Are we a glass half empty kind of thinker or is the glass half full?

Coral your condemning, negative thoughts.  Set them aside. Think on what you know to be good, just and pure. Give thanks to God for His blessings; before you pour out your complaint to Him. God promised; “In this world you will have tribulation, but don’t be afraid, for I have overcome the world.”  He overcame this world through His resurrection power.  He knows the beginning from the end.

                     No-thing is too hard for Jesus Christ.

He’s got you and He’s got this.  It did not take Him by surprise. He knew our days before there was one of them.  Everything we walk through, is filtered through the nail scared hands of our Jesus.

My brother or sister in Christ; these truths should give us cause for pause. Do not allow your enemy even a toe hold.  He wants to bring you down.  If you will pause and pray; in the midst of life’s trials; your faith will be steadied.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord, You alone are faithful!  Help me to pause and pray over everything.  You are the One I turn to, when my world is upside down.  Forgive me for all the times of fretting and worrying, instead of seeking Your face.  You are always with me.  I love you Lord.   In Jesus Name.  Amen!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

