Being an Example

Standard

Devotion:  Philippians 3:3-7

Paul had a goal and it involved the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.  He longed to live out his looking up.  He strived to be an example to his converts; as well as the lost.

We all need to have goals in life; however, in our Christian goals, we must never have confidence in the flesh.  The flesh will fail us every time.  In our passage today; Paul gave testimony to all of his accomplishments, but proclaimed in verse seven: that he counted as loss everything that was gain to him, for the sake of Christ.

Paul was mature in his faith but humble in his maturity. In verse eight he said;

“More than that, I count all things to be loss in view of the surpassing value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and count them but rubbish so that I may gain Christ,”

How can you be an example in the midst of your own trials and tribulations?  Make a list of your goals and across from each one, write down things you must do to achieve these goals. Here are a few examples:

  1.  Witness more                             1.  Be strong and                                                                                  courageous,  Open my                                                                    mouth.
  2. Focus on what’s important.          2.  Seek the Lord in prayer                                                                   daily.
  3. Count everything as loss.             3.  Acknowledge “knowing                                                                   Christ” is more important                                                                 than anything lost.                                                                                                                     People can read your countenance.  I am an easy read.  Even my non Christian friends know when I am down.  So my goal is to live like an overcomer.  Be an example to all who are watching.                                                                                                                                                                                                 Prayer in Motion:                                                                          Lord Jesus, may I be a humble example to those whom You have given me.  I want to apply the things You’ve taught me through Your Word.  May I live out my looking up.  I love You Lord Jesus.  In Jesus Name.  Amen

 

Leave a Reply

