Rejoicing Through It All

Standard

Devotion:  Philippians 4:9-10

Paul’s life was full of rejoicing.  He said in Philippians 1:18a, ,,,”when Christ is proclaimed I rejoice.”  That is present tense. In Philippians 1:18b he says; “I will rejoice”.  That is future tense.  In Philippians 4:10; he says, “I rejoiced.”  That is past tense.   As he writes; Paul lets us know, he has rejoiced, he will rejoice and he is rejoicing.

The recurrent theme in Philippians is joy!  As we Christians approach Christmas season 2016 and the awaiting new year; our hearts should be full of joy.  If Paul could talk about joy in the midst of severe persecution; we must begin to practice choosing joy both now and in the future.

I pray you and I can look back and be able to proclaim; we rejoiced through our trials and tribulations.  You see, hind sight is 20/20.  If we have not rejoiced through our trials;

                  we have the present moment to begin.

After I see Jesus and my mom and dad; I want to meet this man named Paul.  We grow to love people by their actions and their words.  What’s in our hearts comes out of our mouths.  Paul wrote most of the New Testament.  He preached and proclaimed Christ, no matter what.  He gave us words to live by; words that can change our lives, if we will but heed them.

Prayer in Motion:

Thank You Lord for brother Paul.  He earnestly contended for the gospel of Jesus Christ.  He lived out his faith, hope and love in joy.  He honestly displayed joy through every trial and tribulation. Oh God, how I want to always choose joy both now and in the future.  I pray I will be able to look back and say that through it all; “I rejoiced in the Lord greatly.”  Thank You Lord leaving us with these encouraging words.  In Jesus Name.  Amen

 

 

Leave a Reply

